Return to the Windy City

Yeah, except it’s been gorgeous here. Today was finally november-esque, but for the last week it’s been mid to high 60s. Unreal. Not that I mind it too much.

But yes, I’m back in Chicago returning to Drury Lane Oakbrook Theatre for A CHRISTMAS CAROL. About half the cast is the same as last year, including Bill Dick as Scrooge, and it’s been great working with them all again. I’m doing the same track as I did last year, but this time ALSO playing the coveted role of Turkey Boy. Lemme tell ya, best role in the show bar none. It’s funny though – I’m adding a role (total of 4 now) but my show is actually LESS hectic than last year, because I’m not used on nearly as many set changes. Fantastic.

It’s been fun seeing my Chicago friends, eating my Chicago style pizza from Art of Pizza (best in the city!), and getting my Panera every morning before rehearsal. All things New York lacks. Though on the flip side, I’m finding Chicago a little boring in comparison. Don’t get me wrong – I love Chicago, but being back here is pretty much validation that I made the right decision. There’s just so much more energy in NY. So much more going on. I’m having a good time out here, but I really can’t wait to be back. Oh, and there’s the driving thing… I love driving and I missed it in New York. But damn, the hour commute both ways just to do an hour long kids show can take a toll on a person! Haha. And really, getting anywhere in Chicago is a lot more of a pain in the ass than it is in NY, even with the MTA being a nightmare.

Anyway, lets see… what else… The reading of THE BOWERY BOYS went great. It was a blast working with all those people and revisiting the show, albeit from the perspective of a different character. I think we did a great job highlighting what the show could be if picked up by one of the 650-odd producers who saw it. I mean, it sounded sick. (In a good way!) There was a lot of talent up on that stage. 🙂 Speaking of which, we performed on the set of Avenue Q, so that was kind of fun too. But I can’t say enough how grateful I am to have been a part of this show to this point, and thanks to David, Jeremy, Aaron, and in this production, Dom and Brad for giving me the opportunity!

Down the line, just have some Classical Kids gigs coming up – three in January – which is great because I can delay getting a real person job until February! Score. Indiana and Buffalo are the less exciting ones, with Vancouver the headliner. Can’t wait to see that city. We’re only there for a couple days, but hopefully we’ll get to have some fun exploring at least a little bit.

Oh! Last but not least, my brother Greg just got a play of his accepted into a One Act Festival produced by The Riant Theatre in NYC! I’m really excited for him. Between this and his internship at New York Theatre Workshop – things seem to be going pretty well for him too! Guess leaving Iowa was a good choice… 😛

2 Responses to “Return to the Windy City”

  1. You had me all excited with the post title, and then NOTHING even REMOTELY barney came from it, besides liking NYC. Andrew, you are great disappoint.

Leave a comment